mika vainio

time examined

mika vainio

time examined

in the past thirteen years, mika vainio has exhibited in some of the major art spaces in europe and has collaborated with both a number of important artists and curators. since his musical work has been in the focus of attention, his installations have never gained the broader recognition they deserve – without good reason.

in the present book, an overview will give a clear outline of this segment of his oeuvre. also his realized soundtracks for other artists, in the genres of video, film, and dance are included. each work is presented with a significant selection of images (installation views, visuals or sketches) and an explanatory text to deliver its basic idea. in the two essays carl michael von hausswolff and daniela cascella – longtime companions and collaborators – delicately introduce vainio’s conceptions to further enlight the reader’s understanding. on the enclosed cds one can find a selection of tracks created for the respective installations and soundtracks.

catalogue + 2 audio cds, 92 pages, colour/monochrome, texts by daniel klemm, daniela cascella and carl michael von hausswolff

cd1 - mika vanio. time examined. all tracks originate from the installation and soundtrack pieces presented in the book.

01 ilmanvaihto
02 -27
03 the human fly
04 berns
05 half awake half asleep
06 berlin sound chamber
07 3 x wall clocks
08 omertà
09 monumentti
10 sondear
11 4 x radio

cd2 - Ø + noto. mikro makro. this is a re-issue of the original cd released on rastermusik/noton in 1997.

01 Ø 12:25
02 noto 10:05
03 Ø 11:55
04 noto 06:33

for more information on mikro makro and a seperate download of the album,
please see:
Ø + noto. mikro makro (r-n006).